USC logo

Political Economy and Public Law Conference

Welcome to the Tenth Annual Political Economy and Public Law (PEPL) Conference. This year’s PEPL conference is sponsored by the USC Gould School of Law and the USC Price School of Public Policy’s Bedrosian Center on Governance.

The goal of the conference is to strengthen the connections between legal scholars and social scientists doing work at the intersection of politics, economics, and law. This year, we will be discussing papers on police contracts, racial disparities in police shootings, group-based profiling by police, gerrymandering, corruption and campaign finance regulations, campaign finance disclosure, the petitions clause and the administrative state, judicial review of agencies, congressional oversight of agencies, and the imperial foundations of separation of powers.

— Janna Rezaee and Abby Wood

PEPL X program

Invited Participants

Andrea Cann Chandrasekher (UC Davis School of Law)
Jordan Carr Peterson (USC Political Science)
Tom Clark (Emory Political Science)
Miguel De Figueiredo (University of Connecticut School of Law)
Kathleen Doherty (USC Price School of Public Policy)
Laurel Eckhouse (University of Denver Political Science)
Adam Feldman (USC Gould School of Law)
Justin Fox (Washington University Political Science)
Sean Gailmard (UC Berkeley Political Science)
Mike Gilbert (University of Virginia School of Law)
Sanford Gordon (NYU Politics)
Christian Grose (USC Political Science)
Anna Harvey (NYU Politics)
Ryan Hubert (UC Davis Political Science)
Jon Kastellec (Princeton Politics)
Dan Klerman (USC Gould School of Law)
David Law (Washington University School of Law)
Kenneth Lowande (Washington University Political Science)
Pamela Clouser McCann (USC Price School of Public Policy)
Maggie McKinley (Harvard Law School)
Jon Michaels (UCLA School of Law)
Joy Milligan (UC Berkeley School of Law)
Jason Oh (UCLA School of Law)
Karen Orren (UCLA Political Science)
Janna Rezaee (USC Price School of Public Policy)
Douglas Spencer (University of Connecticut School of Law)
Nicholas Stephanopoulos (University of Chicago Law School)
Chris Tausanovitch (UCLA Political Science)
Mike Ting (Columbia Political Science)
Ian Turner (Texas A&M Political Science)
Abby Wood (USC Gould School of Law)
Miranda Yaver (Yale Political Science)


Out-of-town guests will be staying at the Radisson Hotel Los Angeles Midtown at USC, located at 3540 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, CA 90007.

Please contact Yareli Zavala at the Radisson (213-748-4141 ext. 1395) or Jemma Bravo at USC (213-740-3841) with any lodging questions.



Bedrosian Center